Rohit to captain Team India in Nidahas Trophy as Kohli, Dhoni rested

Rohit Shrama to lead new look team India in Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka as Captain Virat Kohli and Mahendra Singh Dhoni rested for the T20 trinagular series which will be held in Sri Lanka next month as the Bangaldesh will be the third country.

Apart from Kohli and Dhoni all-rounder Hardik Pandya, fast bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who have been India’s star performers across all formats also given a much-needed rest.

Shikhar Dhawan will be the vice-captain for Rohit Sharma.

Kohli also didn’t played the last T20 against South Africa with stiff back with MS Dhoni was always in contention for an Important break before the news season.

In Pandya’s absence, the allrounder slot has been granted to Vijay Shankar, whose maiden India call-up came during the Test series against Sri Lanka.

MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest. Selectors kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy.

Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar earned a call-up to the Indian side with Vijay Shankar and Mohammad Siraj have also been included, Rishabh Pant will be the second wicketkeeper in the team along with the experience Dinesh Karthik.

Rishabh Pant gets rewad for his brilliant run of form from the limited overs domestic tournaments. He was joint top-scorer during Delhi’s title-winning campaign in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament, and made a 93-ball 135 against Himachal Pradesh in the 50-over Vijay Hazare Trophy. Pant had last played for India in July 2017.

India will face Sri Lanka in the opening match of the Nidahas Trophy triangular Twenty20 International tournament, starting on March 6.

The tournament has been organised in order to mark the 70th anniversary of Sri Lanka’s independence. The matches will be played under lights at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

India Squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk) Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *